Garlic Roasted Green Beans

6 Aug

I had never thought to roast green beans before, especially in the middle of summer, but E hates green beans.  So, I made it my mission to make green beans that he likes, and I’m proud to say that these do the trick!  I love any fresh vegetable, with very few exceptions, and would eat them steamed and plain all day long, but I have to say that these roasted green beans are mighty, mighty good.  And, they’re ridiculously easy, but fancy-tasting.  My favorite combo.  They’re even worth turning your oven on for in the middle of summer.  Thank goodness for air conditioning.

Garlic Roasted Green Beans

Ingredients

  • 1 lb fresh green beans (or other similar beans, like the purple spotted ones seen in the photo)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Heat the oven to 425 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Rinse and drain green beans.  Trim off the ends of the beans, or snap them off with your fingers.  Toss the beans in a large bowl with the olive oil, garlic cloves, and salt and pepper.

Spread the beans on the parchment-lined baking sheet in a single layer.  Bake the beans for approximately 12 minutes, stirring once halfway through.  The beans should have browned edges and be slightly wilted when they’re done.  Eat and enjoy!

Source: Eileen, inspired by many roastings of vegetables in my day

Budget Breakdown: $3.60 for 4 side-dish servings

  • Green Beans ($3/lb at the farmer’s market): $3.00
  • Garlic: $0.60

My beans actually came from my CSA, so I scoped out the farmer’s market price for my dear readers.  Have I told you how much I love my CSA?  I probably have.  It’s true – because the veggies are so delicious, and I get a ton of them for $12/week.  The end.

2 Responses to “Garlic Roasted Green Beans”

  1. hiphostess August 6, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    I just roasted green beans exactly like this (and for the first time) last week and they were really, really good. I had to find a creative way to use the woody, mature beans from the crop-share and this was the perfect recipe for the beans.

    • Eileen August 7, 2012 at 9:39 am #

      This would be a perfect recipe for those type of beans. I’m glad yours turned out tasty, too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

